top of page

March Trainings

Momo is growing up, not so much growing to be honest, but her attitude is exactly what I hoped for. She mostly communicates by growling, she uses it for everything and it sounds like some angry baby bird. She has very strong herding instinct, loves to just run around like a maniac in weird shapes (my friends say that she should get a job in Rosewell doing crop circles). Her favourite sheep is Xsara who at almost 11 years of age loves to stay behind us at walks and sniff around. Momo is very happy to keep her close to us at all times, which, I admit, makes walking 3 dogs a lot easier for me. I really like her running style, she is lots of fun and uses her brain a lot, I really couldn't ask for more. She progresses much faster than I expected her to, so I am in absolutely no rush with her.

Tani is gaining confidence back, she had a very long break and is sure happy to be allowed to play again, but we are taking things very slowly. She is a very good girl, remembers all the cues and equipment, but is a bit unsure at times, so I keep things simple until she gets more confident again. She looks like a lemur when we go to the agility field, with those huge eyes that make my heart melt. Her behaviour changed a lot since she is running again, she went from hiding under my bed all day to the most cuddly little creature that she used to be before the injury. It's amazing how much those few minutes on the field affect her whole life.

Xsara and I decided to start with a new discipline, now that she knows all rally-o exercises and need a new challenge. We are trying to get into obedience, which sounds a bit funny with beagle but she really likes this type of work, it makes her focused and calm. She also has the heart of a working dog so I am happy to give her an opportunity to do something fun with me. After running with the two maniacs some relaxed heeling is a meditation for me as well :)


bottom of page