top of page

Puppy Update

Momo is now 5,5 months old and she keeps teaching me so much. She is really different from any dog I've worked with so far, so she keeps me thinking and planning my work with her more than I ever had to before.

_DSC1245.jpg

How is she different? Well, for example some things that are natural to most dogs, are not natural to her at all. Most puppies would show some sort of reaction to happy or upset voice, but not Momo. I actually had to teach her that my happy high pitch voice means something good is about to happen. Meaning that I was talking to her with happy voice every time she was already happy or something good was about to happen - before meals, walks or playtime with her. She now understands it very well and even when a bit unsure it gets her excited. But yes, I actually had to teach that to her.

IMG_9506-2.jpg

Same thing with luring. I normally don't use luring so our clicking sessions consist of shaping games and I make sure that I reward in the direction she is facing while doing the behaviour. And she is so used to doing behaviours anywhere, even behind my back, that I sometimes didn't see what she was doing because she was behind me. And when I tried to lure her back in front of me so that I could see her, she had no idea what I wanted from her. I was surprised because following food in my hand didn't really seem like something too difficult to understand. So I had to teach her to follow my empty hand/target, and only then she got it. It is also true that she seems to have some natural respect for things I claim mine, although at the same time she has no respect for my skin or clothes.

10405315_10202896749963650_213645988830664787_n.jpg

But she is like this. She takes everything very seriously and I am doing my best to suit her needs. She is not stupid at all, in fact she is very intelligent, just different than I'm used to. For example, if she wants to sleep in the place that is already occupied by Tani (yes, next to my head), she will go to the front door and do one single bark. Tani who is very protective of Momo will go to bark to the door, and Momo just hops on the bed and gets cozy by my head. She also knows how to open any drawer without any prior learning, a trick that I never ever teach to any of my dogs. She thinks it's totally normal for her to sit on a chair and will hop there every time she gets a chance. No matter how many times I tell her off, she keeps thinking it's totally normal for her to be there.

_DSC1290.jpg

But what I love the most about her is curiosity. I remember her first car ride at 6 weeks of age. She was perfectly comfortable sitting in my lap, then all of a sudden she turned around and noticed the window of the car and trees passing by. She climbed on the window shelve and watched the World in front of her, with her head leaning left and right like an owl. She still does it when she sees or hears something new and apart from being very cute I know that this curiosity will help her if she is ever unsure about something. I am looking forward to being there for her for many new "first times" in the future. I am sure we will have a lot of fun together, no matter what future has in store for us.

IMG_9429-3.jpg

bottom of page